Daily Roll Checks

Setting up Roll templates available for staff use on a daily basis

Kathleen Lowry avatar
Written by Kathleen Lowry
Updated over a week ago

Daily Roll Checks can be used any time an attendance check is needed in Orah. This could be a school assembly, an evening check-in at bedtime, or when out on an excursion.

A daily roll check allows to you to select all students, a specific house, or group of students to mark. Students are typically marked as present, late, or absent, but these states can be customized and additional states can be added.

Staff can either work on this roll alone or can share the roll with a colleague (making it a live roll), so multiple staff members can collaborate to account for students.

Configuring a Daily Roll

From the Admin Console, scroll down to the Attendance (Supervise) product and select 'Rolls'.

Select '+ New Roll Type' at the top right.

When given the opportunity to choose Daily or Automatic roll, choose Daily.

Now, you can start to customize your roll, as shown in the below animation:

First name your roll, then you can choose from the following options:

Assignments: Who does this Roll apply to, specific houses, or all school?

Default Options: What groups/houses would you like the Roll to automatically use when you start it?

Permissions: Which staff can start the roll, invite other staff, or complete it?

Codes: What states do you want available when staff members complete this roll check?

The default codes are editable and you can add as many codes as you want to fit the needs of your campus.

Once all the settings are complete, scroll to the top and click save at the right side. You will now see your roll type on your Manage Rolls page and you will now be able to select this roll type when completing a roll check.

Editing, Deactivating, or Deleting a Roll

To edit roll settings, copy, deactivate, or delete a roll, simply open your Rolls menu in the Admin Console, then click the three dots next to the roll check.

If a Daily Roll is deactivated, it will be saved in the system, but no longer visible for staff use until it is re-activated.

If you have any questions after reading through, click the blue chat icon at the bottom right-hand corner of this page. This will start a conversation with one of Orah's Team.

Did this answer your question?